CURLY HAIR Q&A

Recently a friend of mine asked for me to do a post answering some FAQs about my hair so here they are:

What products do you use?

Since I started my curly hair journey 2 and a half years ago I’ve been experimenting with different products and am yet to find my holy grail product/brand. I recently discovered they sell Mixed Chicks in Boots now and tried out their leave-in conditioner. The product was nice and worked well for my hair but I couldn’t justify the £10.99 price tag when the bottle only lasted me 2 weeks.

When I have time to get ready (which isn’t all that often as I love my sleep) I use the LOC method. The LOC method is where you use Leave-in, Oil, and Cream in that exact order. My favourite leave-in so far is the ORS Curls Unleashed Leave-in Conditioner (it smells soooo good!!). My oil of choice is, of course, virgin coconut oil and the cream portion of my routine gives thanks to the ORS Curls Unleashed Intense Hair Conditioner. The LOC method ensures my curls will stay in formation (hehe get it) for at least 3-4 days providing I look after it which I’ll get to in a bit.

LOC

Do you deep condition? If so how often?

I try to deep condition my hair once a week or when my hair tells me it needs it. I don’t use any particular deep conditioners as I like to pick a few of the sachets from Boots and experiment with different ones. Hair mayonnaise (any brand) is the kind of thing I like to use to deep condition and I slather my hair in it in the shower, get to my business of shaving, showering, dancing etc. then wash the product out. When my hair is showing signs of real thirst I wear the deep conditioner to bed. I just slather it on to dampened hair, twist it in a bun and cover my pillow in a t-shirt.

Do you co-wash? How often do you wash your hair?

YES!!! Whenever I’m doing a wash-n-go I co-wash. My hair gets too fluffy when I use shampoo on it so co-washing is the only way for me. There’s a common misconception that it’s the shampoo that cleans your hair but it’s more the action of rubbing your hair with the pads of your fingers that does the job. I wash-n-go most days and only shampoo like once a fortnight. I absolutely hate my hair after shampooing as it loses its coils and just fluffs up. So when I do shampoo I either wear it in a bun for a few days or cake it in more product which kind of defeats the object of shampooing in the first place!

Do you wear a headscarf to bed?

I tried this and it would just end up with on the floor, under my pillow or down by my feet by the time I woke up. I tried to tie it tighter but I would just wake up with a headache. I’m looking into getting a silk pillowcase but at the moment I just tie my hair in a pineapple with the loosest bobble I can find. The plastic twisted ones are my fave or a big loose scrunchie works great as well.

How do you preserve your curls for the next day?

As mentioned above, I wear my hair in a loose pineapple for bed then in the morning I water spray the perimeter of my head which has experienced some frizziness through the night. If needed, I’ll apply a bit more leave -in conditioner to these portions but normally the water spray does the trick!

Do you finger detangle?

YES!! I rarely use hair tools on my hair as I think they greatly contribute to breakage. I always detangle in the shower and do so with my  hands covered in coconut oil and conditioner. I find this is the best way to ensure it is completely detangled.

How do you control product build up?

I try not to put any product on my roots. For the majority of my hair, I start applying product from my ears down, and for the front portion I do it from an inch or so away from the roots. When I feel like the product is building up and weighing my curls down, it’s time to get the dreaded shampoo out.

A few extra things I feel I need to mention…

I never use a towel or hairdryer to dry my hair but always use a t-shirt. Any old t-shirt will do, I normally just use the one I had on the day before. This drying method ensures less frizz as there’s less friction with the cotton as opposed to the abrasive towel and the t-shirt also soaks up the water quicker!

I very rarely, if ever, use heat on my hair. This was the biggest factor contributing to the state of my hair when transitioning from my chemically straightened hair to my natural curls. Blow drying on the hot setting increases frizz anyway and the use of heat is never going to help make your curls pop. In the 2 and half years I’ve spent transitioning I can count how many  times I’ve straightened my hair on one hand. Bearing in mind I used to straighten it everyday! This was the biggest driving factor to my hair becoming thick, curly and healthy.

 

2 thoughts on “CURLY HAIR Q&A

Add yours

  1. Thank you for the blog lante!
    I try to finger detangle as much as possible but I am sooo lazy and end up using a comb😫! I am going to purchase the products you have listed and see how they work for me. I am using mixed chicks at the moment but find it a little drying, and the price is not easy on the bank account either lol! Product build up is the bane of my life so I end up shampooing once a week if I dont I feel my head gets irritated, I just need to train my scalp because its so used to being shampooed often!
    Thanks again xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What you said about training your scalp is sooo true! At first it may be a bit uncomfortable but after a few weeks it’ll get used to it a co-washing will be your best friend! And as for the finger detangling, bin your comb haha then you have no choice! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

